What’s in the (Art)box? 

Truth: A picture is worth a thousand words

In case you haven’t noticed, I have a rule (for this blog). To strike a balance, I try to ensure that there’s an even weighting between the amount of text I have and the number of photos included in one post. But in the case of Artbox, which is probably the MOST Instagram-worthy outdoor food and hip shopping fair that I’ve ever been in Bangkok so far, I think it’d be silly not to make that rule a complete exception.

IMG_0068IMG_0041

Because, if the old saying “a picture is worth a thousand words” is true, then surely my photos can undeniably substitute for a full length story.

IMG_0128IMG_0111IMG_0134

For those of you that do want a bit of written narrative, Artbox is weekend night fair that occurs every so often (generally once a month) and moves to a different location every time it’s on. Personally, this was my first trip. I’ve been wanting to go since forever but hadn’t managed to afford the time to visit. So in truth, I really didn’t know what to expect and was honestly not disappointed at all with what I walked into at Suanluang Square near the National Stadium BTS station.

IMG_0057IMG_0055IMG_0115

I guess the name “Artbox” did confuse me a little when I first arrived. With so much food and clothes on sale, I was starting to wonder whether “art” actually bore any significance to the fair at all. However, as another old saying goes, we need to think outside the box. And so I eventually realised that the art was actually painted around the exteriors of every container box that each stall was situated in (see below for photographic evidence). Honestly, how cool is that? Who would have known that these little indie, hipster shops had so much to offer both inside and out?

IMG_0095

In other words, make sure you bring a full powered camera so you won’t miss any of the unique surprises offered there then (especially the cute little doggy below!).

IMG_0023IMG_0024IMG_0081

But in truth, I don’t think people were there just for the art and live music. Clearly, as my photos show, it was the food that won first prize in every visitor’s heart (or stomach to be more precise!). If you’re craving for freshly made freakshakes, sizzling hot rainbow grilled cheeses, or just something a little bit different like chips/fries with purple sauce drizzled on the top, then this is DEFINITELY the fair for you. Just make sure you don’t come after lunch (or breakfast) as you will need an empty stomach to devour all of the tasty treats.

IMG_0083IMG_0103

Because honestly, it was excruciatingly difficult to NOT want to try literally every dish edible there.

IMG_0112IMG_0043

Tip: Stay hungry before you go to Artbox – trust me, you won’t regret it!

Now I wonder when the next fair is on…?

Follow me on Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bloglovin’

 

10 thoughts on “What’s in the (Art)box? 

    1. Yes it was fun! I went quite early in the day to it but have to say that I certainly did enjoy it more as a result. It certainly made taking nice photos a lot easier thanks to the natural sunlight 🙂 Hope you’ll get to go one day too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

