A Weekend at The Commons

Truth: fun is much closer to home than you think

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll already know for sure that I am a bit of an art lover. Whether it’s galavanting around Bangkok in search of street art, or even heading over to Singapore for the latest “spotty” art exhibition, I’m always on the look out for new artistic events and happenings to join. So when I heard that the family, eco and dog-friendly community mall, The Commons, in Thonglor was hosting a local artists weekend with workshops, displays, and live demos, I simply had to go.

IMG_0218

I always find it difficult to categorise art events, as they’re often great travel hotspots in addition to lifestyle hubs. But in the case of The Commons, I think, in reality, it fits in both of these blogging pillars that I use (and even food! Want proof? Check out my Instagram feed below the comments for delicious details).

IMG_0220IMG_0219IMG_0199

Known for its unique architectural structure that, in my opinion, blends in modern minimalism perfectly with eco-friendly touches, The Commons is probably the hippest little mall I’ve ever been to. It always has a very lively vibe, which is not surprising seeing as it is an ultimate community lifestyle events hub (think cookery, concerts and even coffee making)  in Bangkok. It’s also home to a plethora of boutique cafes and shops (my current favourite being Xiao Chi – again, check my Instagram to understand why). And on top of that, it is incredibly photogenic (hence all the photos I took!)! Who could really ask for anything less in little Bangkokian community mall?

IMG_0262IMG_0235 copyIMG_0233

Oh and did I mention that there’s a small lawn with real grass on the top floor? Definitely ideal for taking one’s feet out of one’s daily work heels and relaxing with friends on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.

IMG_0207IMG_0196IMG_0227

Going back to the art fair (apologies for the minor but necessary detour!), if you had gone, you would have been welcomed by a niche array of local painters and crafters treating you to a stunning display of their latest pieces. It was definitely fun going around each outdoorsy floor of the mall to visit and see the unique styles that every artist had developed. Truthfully a good way for me as a newbie to Bangkok’s fine arts scene to explore its top highlights. So honestly, it’s hard to pick a favourite! I definitely did like Supmanee C’s water colour paintings a lot, but truthfully I think all the artists apparent during that weekend were equally magnificent.

IMG_0162

Oh and if you’re interested in the curious pink rabbit-like creature as shown above, the mastermind behind it, Alex Face, was indeed present during the event.

IMG_0249

Final thoughts
Sometimes in life we like to go to all corners of the world in search of fun. It’s usually worth the trek, but in reality, fun can be a lot closer to home at times than you think.

Until the next amazing event at The Commons then.

IMG_0184

Follow me on Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bloglovin’

 

33 thoughts on “A Weekend at The Commons

    1. Haha glad you liked it! It’s always good to remember to find fun and enjoyment in life just by using what’s around you 😊 hope you’ll be able to find this happiness too! Thanks for stopping by 😊

      Like

    1. Thank you! I believe The Commons has been opened since early 2016. It’s on Soi Thonglor 17 (not on the main road, down a little alley essentially – best reached via taxi or motorcycle for foreign travellers). Gives you a good excuse to come back soon then! 😉

      Like

    1. No worries! Glad you liked it 😊 I’ll be uploading another post on my visit to a different outdoor indie market in Bangkok later this week (probably Saturday) so do check it out if you have time! 😄

      Like

    1. Bangkok (and Thailand in general) has loads to offer – both modern and traditional! If you ever get an opportunity to come again, I hope you’ll get to visit The Commons 🙂 do share you experiences with me, would love to read about it! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. The Commons does look like the hippest place! I love how bright it looks and the variety of art inside. I could easily see myself getting lost in there for hours – I would just get distracted by everything there since there are so many cool things to get distracted by!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here actually! That’s why it’s best to go on the weekend when you’ve got all the time in the world to wander and explore all the cool attractions and shops there 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

