Spotty over Shiny: Yayoi Kusama

Truth: “Ooh, Spotty” is the NEW “Ooh, Shiny”

Without a doubt, Yayoi Kusama‘s Life is the Heart of a Rainbow exhibition in Singapore’s National Gallery was definitely one of the most photogenic I’ve ever been to. Seriously, I’ve never seen so many people and families line up at 9am (on a Sunday!) just to get into the 10am session. But I’m not surprised why. With a mix of interactive installations and key masterpieces on display, this was truly a $25 (SGD) well spent.

IMG_1789A

IMG_1762A
With All My Love For The Tulips, I Pray Forever

If I had to choose a favourite, I’d pick the first installation I saw: Spirits of Pumpkins Descended into Heaven (photo below). It just really surprised how much that little mirrored box could show me upon peeking inside. All the spots, lights and dots did kind of overwhelm my vision a little bit, but it was totally worth looking in even though we only got around 5 seconds. If you’re interested in immersive experiences, definitely make sure you line for the Infinity Room (equally as stunning and Instagrammable). Just remember to use your camera’s multiple shots function  as you only get 20 seconds.

IMG_1683A
Peeking into Pumpkin Heaven
IMG_1669A
Dots and spots

IMG_1694A

Tip: If you want to take decent photos, go in the morning to avoid (most of) the crowds

IMG_1714AIMG_1744A

I also recommend going with a partner, friend or relative. It’s more fun to enjoy the exhibition when you go with others (of whom can also help you take awesome OOTD shots!).

IMG_1699A
Trying to blend into an Invisible Life

IMG_1737A
IMG_1670A

But, why is Spotty Over Shiny?
Ok so enough review waffling, now I’ll answer why spotty is the new shiny. Like many others, I often get distracted by what’s shiny over not. A shiny new watch, phone, accessories…etc. I’m attracted to them all. Currently, I have a new obsession: numbers. Specifically, viewership numbers for my blog. Every time I reach a new high, I can’t help but celebrate. It gives me great motivation to write more after this kick of success. So you can imagine that when my posts don’t meet my expectations, I do get a little bit upset

IMG_1792A

IMG_1796A
Life Is The Heart Of A Rainbow and co.

However! Going to this exhibition has reminded me of one thing. It’s not the numbers that count, but the process that goes into creating the piece that matters. I think for Yayoi Kusama, polka dots were a little bit of an obsession. But for me, blogging is my passion. It’s a hobby that I decided to pursue because I wanted to get more enjoyment out of life (through travel, food, and also lifestyle). So even if I don’t always get high viewership for all my posts, that’s ok! What matters more is whether I enjoyed the writing experience (which I honestly do every time), and it’s precisely why I’ll continue.

IMG_1840A
Dots Obsession at the exit

 

“Ooh, spotty” – I definitely prefer that over “ooh, shiny”.

Note: This is my response to this week’s WordPress Photo Challenge: Ooh, Shiny!

Follow me on Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bloglovin’

33 thoughts on “Spotty over Shiny: Yayoi Kusama

Leave a Reply

